The Sunshine Award

Ok, this has to be a miracle, 

I logged on here the other day to *try* to write, and found I had a comment on my last post, that I had been nominated for the ‘Sunshine Award’ from my friend Rob over at Eat, Sleep, Procrastinate.

Much like Rob, prior to this I had no idea what the ‘Sunshine Award’ is, and had never heard of it. It turns out that the Sunshine Award is a really lovely chain letter passed from blogger to blogger, the kind of chain letter that gives you a warm fuzzy feeling instead of threats that dead zombie children are going to come in the night to kill you if you don’t pass it on. It is more of an opportunity to let fellow bloggers that you appreciate their blog, and that it inspires you. Also, for me, it has finally thawed me out from the massive writers block of ice that I have become stuck in for the past few months.

Anyhow, here are the rules of the Award: Image

  1. Include the Sunshine Award logo on your blog post.
  2. Answer 10 questions on yourself- I will do more research to see who makes up the questions.
  3. Nominate 10-12 other bloggers who inspire you.
  4. Link the other nominees and post on their blog letting them know that they have been nominated.
  5. Link back the lovely person who nominated you.

Questions:

After looking into this, generally the questions are the same with only a few variations- I get to choose the variations 🙂

  • Favorite colour?  Red, though I do also really like orange. It’s a bit of a toss up really.
  • Favorite animal? Has to be the cat. Cape is the coolest animal I have ever had the good fortune to know. Even if she does like to pass off stunned window-hitting animals off as her own catch and brings them in for all to see. (To be honest, this saves a few feet of walking to collect the animal for the ride to the vets).
 
  • Favorite number? Similar to Rob, mine is my birth date. 6. I was born on the 6th of the 6th month, at 6am, on the 6th day of the week. Luckily as I have 4 sixes and not 3, I cannot possibly be the devil incarnate 0;)
 
  • Favorite drink? Robinsons sugar free Summer fruits juice. Other than 50% diluted fruit juice once a day, it is all I drink. It used to be Robinsons blackcurrant, and apparently when I was on holiday in America when I was little, we had to pack some and when it ran out I cried when my parents gave me the American equivalent. (In my defense, I was only about 3 at the time). 
 
  • Facebook or twitter? Facebook I suppose, it is a good way to keep in contact with people. I detest twitter I’m afraid.
 
  • What is your passion? I’m not entirely sure I have discovered mine yet. I love sewing, boarding, sailing, baking and anything scientific. If I had to choose one, it would be baking; as I have loved it all of my life, I am into the science behind it, and I do it irregardless of how I’m feeling, unlike my other interests.
  • Giving or receiving presents? Giving. I enjoy thinking through exactly what would be an appropriate/useful gift for the person and seeing if they actually use it. I do like receiving gifts, but only if I can open them on my own. It is a little awkward otherwise. 
 
  • Favorite food? If you’re thinking favorite raw ingredient food, then definitely tofu. But not tofu on it’s own. Unless it is fresh homemade then YUM!  It is the most useful/versatile/nutritious food I know. It has a really bad rap, but seriously,  go to dinner with someone who knows tofu and you will be pleasantly surprised.
 
  • Favorite day of the week? Wednesday. Just because it is.
 
  • Favorite flower? Oddly enough, the same as Rob again. Tulips. They are the only flower I actually like. (Apart from the random flowers kids pick and give to me- ditto other flowers given to me by people I like). At my funeral I would have black tulips. Or at my wedding, either one.

And now the passing on of the award, my nominees are. . .. . .  . .

Drumroll . . . . . . 

  1. 101 cookbooks. Seriously, I may never buy a cookbook again. Though really, we all know that is a lie, I love my cookbooks. But anyway, this blog is filled with great, workable recipes, many of which are vegan or can easily be turned into such and are natural and healthy. Woohoo!
  2. Sewing school. Filled with awesome ideas for sewing with kids. I have used this site for inspiration more than a few times for activities for kids I’m looking after and for my Beaver group. My favorite activity was one for strung bird feeders (if you look after children, I really reccomend looking this up).
  3. Naked vegan cooking. Not only does this blog have awesome vegan recipes (sometimes from guests across the world), it approaches some important issues such as body image and eating disorders. Plus, it is written by naturists who are younger than retirement age! 
  4. The tiny times. Quite the most adorable blog ever. A photo blog about a little kid, what cool things he has been up to, and the awesome clothes he wears. This is about a trillion times better than whatever crappy fashion mag you’re reading. I must admit, I want this kids wardrobe.
  5. Enviromom. I am not sure if this even counts, as the blog is now dead, but it has some really awesome ideas for sustainable living in it. And some killer recipes for things like soaps and cleaning products.
  6. Sew liberated. This is a great blog written by a ladywho has travelled lots, has two lovely chidren and does sewing for a living. It is filled with stories from her life, and interesting sewing bits (she designs patterns for a living). It also has stories about teaching and raising children Montessori style. I really like the ideas of Montessori, and how it views children as capable functioning beings other than small dependents. Enabling children is how they learn and grow, and this is what happens at this blog.
  7. Ironicmom. One word, hilarious. As the lady who writes this blog is an English teacher, and writes a.lot. I shall not write much here 🙂
  8. To Write Love On Her Arms. Ok, ok, maybe I am bending the rules a little here. But TWLOHA does have a blog section. TWLOHA is an American based charity championing mental illness awareness, acceptance and cure. The site gives hope to so many people, and offers a hand in the darkness. You should check it out, even if you you don’t care. My favorite poem (see last post) was read at a TWLOHA gig.

Now, as all of the blogs I have listed here are so very awesome; I need not mention anymore. 8 is the new 10 after all. 

So thankyou very much Eat, sleep, procrastinate for the nomination and for thawing me out of my block.

Peace out.

Charlotte

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Sunshine Award

  1. Thanks for the fab shout out. Is that a gerber daisy on the logo? Daisies on steroids are my favourite flower.

    Happy end-of-weekend, Charlotte!

  2. Oh how sweet thank you xo {Tiny} Times

  3. Amie Plumley says:

    Love it – thanks! It makes my day to be nominated. Glad to find your blog as well!

Leave a Reply

