KEEP AN EYE ON THE MICROWAVE!

Today, I made some chocolate mousse. This is quite possibly on of the easiest puddings to make ever. It only needs three ingredients, and one method: blend! But today, I managed to make this recipe look hard.

Queue mist and pensieve expression. . . . goes back a few hours. . . .

I am making mousse for the pudding for dinner at my uncles house, I didn’t choose anything fancy as we are having Chinese takeaway, and perhaps chocolate doesn’t really go with Chinese food, but heck chocolate is lovely! I have never been much of a fan of Chinese food, I always find it a little sickly but unfortunately it seems to be many peoples favorite takeout. Luckily for me I’m not feeling too hungry today, and so I can get away with just having the vegetable spring rolls (yum).

I start the mousse around midday, as I know all too well what I am like with kitchen mishaps and it is always better being ready earlier rather than later. My ingredients are: Undefined sugar, Dark chocolate and Firm silken tofu (which is quite possibly my love affair in the ingredients department).

Yum!

My first problem comes up as soon as I get everything out for preperation: Grandma has gotten rid of her blender. Now I know that people can get by very easily without a blender in everyday life, but when you are turning my Love into anything saucy, such as sour cream or puddings, it is *awful* when it is not blended properly. Silken tofu comes out of the package as a a slimy, curd like, box shape being. Frankly, it looks gross. But blend and blend and it goes thick and smooth like cream. The problem is, that if you do not blend sufficiently, you end up with really horrible soft grainy blobs, which feel wrong against the tongue.

Luckily, after scouring  the kitchens I found a hand blender. Though it’s tiddly, it has the all important blades on it to slice it up. It took 20 minutes of blending to get it smooth. Yes, that is correct, 20 solid minutes of blending!! Remind me next time to bring my own blender!

I then popped the chopped chocolate in the microwave and poured the sugar into the tofu. Then more blending. thankfully not so long this time, just until the sugar dissolved.

However, it seems it was long enough. At the same time as me making my mousse, my Grandma was making herself a cheese and tomato toastie in the grill. I start to notice a burning smell (which does often happen when using the grill) but then all of a sudden, smoke is furling around us and the smell has intensified to disgusting levels. Quickly we open up the oven and pull all of the grill pans out, the cheese is just bubbling, and the toast is not even burnt. On the off chance, I open the microwave, as it is the only other thing which is on. A cloud of gray smoke hits me in the face.

Upon removing said bowl of chocolate from the microwave, I have found that the chocolate is smoking profusely and the middle section resembles burnt cake. So much for being a good cook then. I used the unburnt chocolate to dip biscuits in, and made a quick trip to the shops for more chocolate.

Chocolate and ginger, almost as good as chocolate and alcohol

 

I decide the old fashioned route and go for the bowl over a pan of boiling water. The chocolate melts beautifully, and folded into the mix without a hitch. I then poured this into a series of pudding dishes, topped with crystallized ginger and put in the fridge to set.

I realize much more how the kitchen must have smelt when the chocolate burnt when I brush my hair later, and the burnt chocolate smell comes right back.

A little less next time. . . .

Forward to after dinner, and the mousse has gone down rather well. My very omnivorous family have enjoyed the mousse and suggest that had they not known it is vegan, they would not have known. This is certainly a win for the Vegan.  The only point to work on was that with the bigger dishes than normal, the mousse was much too rich for anyone to finish.

 

 

 

 

But see  this lovely dish my uncle has from Turkey.

Charlotte

This entry was posted in hobbies, holidays, recipes, scotland, vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

